Odd Bookers: Books I Am Anticipating for 2021

By Kelly Ansara


There is nothing more that gets me wide-eyed with excitement than a publisher announcement. They usually come from behind a wall with no warning on social media or email (depending on your preference), and suddenly you are left wanting, waiting, and possibly broke from the preorder.

What is great about 2021 is that publishers held out on 2020 (the write-off it was) and are unpacking the proverbial big guns for 2021. We are talking about great African fiction, thrilling crime novels, heartbreaking autobiographies, and lyrical literary fiction. I sit here typing this in literal anticipation, hoping the influx of announcements cease so my pile can ease up. While there are no layers to my anticipation – it is pure unadulterated excitement. Think Christmas Day for books. So I thought I would share some of the books I am waiting for patiently.

Here is a list of books I am anticipating this 2021 (to name a few):

  • HIS ONLY WIFE by PEACE ADZO MEDIE

February 2021

For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Candice Carty-Williams, His Only Wife is the story of an indomitable and relatable heroine that illuminates what it means to be a woman in a rapidly changing world.

  • NOTES ON GRIEF by CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE

June 2021

Notes on Grief, a work of meditation, remembrance, and hope, written in the wake of her father’s death, grew out of an essay that originally appeared in The New Yorker.

  • ANIMAL by LISA TADDEO

August 2021

Lisa Taddeo’s debut novel Animal is a literary thriller about a woman driven to kill when the violence of her childhood reemerges as a weapon against the powerlessness of her present.

 

CHRONICLES FROM THE LAND OF THE HAPPIEST PEOPLE ON EARTH by WOLE SOYINKA

November 2021

Chronicles From the Land of the Happiest People On Earth is provocative, profoundly compassionate, and slyly mischievous. Bristling with wit and rage in equal measure and delivered with enormous generosity of spirit and a dazzling lightness of touch, Wole Soyinka speaks truth to power as ever with a tour de force from a master storyteller at the height of his powers.

It’s going to be a big year in books. So, I hope you have a comfy chair, beverages on tap, and a savings account. Because readers beware, books come your way.

For more reviews, as well as photography, writing, and cooking, check out Kelly’s blog, https://queenandbiscuits.co.za/ and Instagram page, https://www.instagram.com/queen_kelso/